Back at planet RAW

Yes, I know that there is also a restaurant by this name in LA, but I am not referring to this, although I would love to go there sometime. What I am referring to is that I was home visiting my mom (and had a lovely time with my sister), but unfortunately since I need to take my changed diet in steps with my mother I could not keep a raw diet there. I also had to eat a little bit of cheese and some eggs – but otherwise could keep the vegan style – next time I can, probably, avoid eating any dairy as well. I still had a very nice time – I got to eat many nice vegan dishes, albeit too much bread – don’t like it, but for some time that will probably have to be a staple while home since I have to make sure not to undereat, while not creating overdue tensions with my so-called “extreme” raw dishes. Someday there will be raw in the house though – for now I would be happy if it was only no-grains vegan cuisine while home.

So how was my trip? It was wonderful. My sis and I have a special connection – we always have such a nice time together – I love being together with nice people who I can just be upright honest with without needing to watch my words and they love me for it and shower me with warm energy. It was such a recharge of my energies that are depleted from being in Uppsala all the time. Don’t get me wrong – I love Uppsala, but you need a change of scenery once in a while.

I got back together and at once got back on the raw diet, which was wonderful…that was a lie. I fell for the temptation to relax after a tiring day of travels and classes so I got some corn chips and salsa as well as some vegan ice-cream. Sigh, silly me. But today I went back to raw, which was amazing. While I don’t enjoy being away from my raw diet, I do not experience any wish to turn away from it – quite the opposite actually, it strengthened me in my conviction that this is the true way. Started with a fruit smoothie this morning and finished off with a delish stew. The recipe is a variation on a dish in Chris Kendall’s 101-recipes. Originally supposed to be used with romaine, but I used lettuce, since that is what I had on hand and I didn’t want to waste an entire 15 MINUTES for a round-trip to the store. Added some cucumber as well.

Lettuce

3-4 tomatoes

1/4 zucchini

1/4 cucumber

1/2 cup sundried tomatoes

1. Dice 1/4 of the lettuce and put the rest in blender.

2. Add 1/4 zucchini and cucumber to the lettuce and put the rest in the blender.

3. Add 1/2 of both sundried and normal tomatoes (rest in blender). I usually quarter the normal ones and halve the sundried ones (don’t want those too small or you won’t feel the taste).

4. Blend together with some water, moving around with a spoon a few times to get it to get going properly.

5. Enjoy. This dish serves two – or rather, it filled me up once at 5 and once again at 8 when I got hungry again 😛

 

Leave a Reply

